Office of the Dean

Leadership for your future

Leadership comes from all corners of the College of Education. Led by the Dean’s Office, represented across faculty and staff, benefiting from our advisory councils. Together, we create and steward the vision of our — and your— future. Most of all, we serve, support and encourage a flourishing community of students, scholars, advocates and friends. 

Colleen S Mulhommand
Colleen S Mulhommand
Dean Colleen S. Mulholland, EdD

Find your passion.
Make it happen. 

What’s your passion? Maybe it’s a classroom full of kids. A community needing your guidance in areas ranging from public health to recreation to fitness. Organizations — school districts, nonprofit agencies, health systems — seeking future leaders. 

The dynamic array of undergraduate and graduate degree programs in the College of Education makes it all possible. We’re proud of our legacy and leadership in teacher education and beyond. We value the breadth and richness of our student and faculty backgrounds and interests. As dean, I’m excited about what’s to come in preparing the next generation. The future awaits. Join us. 

College of Education Leadership & Dean's Staff

Advisory Councils

Dean's Advisory Council 

Bob Brown, Community Representative and Founding Council Member
Cary Darrah, CEO, Grow Cedar Valley
Anel Garza de Sandoval, Principal, Woodbury Elementary School
Rob Green, Mayor, Cedar Falls
Sara Grimm, Principal, Hoover Elementary, Mason City School District
Todd Holcomb, President, Hawkeye Community College
Erin Holstrom, Des Moines Public Schools
Abraham Funchess, Human Rights Executive Director, Waterloo
Bob Kressig, Iowa State Representative, District 59
Bailey Leitner, Undergraduate, COE Elementary Education Major
Joyce Levingston, Graduate Student, COE Doctoral Program, Allied Health, Recreation and Community Services
Megan McKenzie, Executive Director, R.J. McElroy Trust
Stephanie Mohorne, Associate Superintendent for Educational Services, Waterloo Community School District
Andy Pattee, Superintendent, Cedar Falls Community School District
Ron Rinehart, COE Faculty, Educational Psychology, Foundations and Leadership Studies
Vicki Robinson, COE Emeritus Faculty
Helen Schumacher, Schumacher Elevator Company
Keith Stamp, Community Representative and Founding Council Member