Student Organizations and Groups


Art for El Salvador (AFES)

AFES is a charitable organization that uses art in all of its forms to support mission work and uplift impoverished communities in El Salvador. Developmental projects for those suffering in extreme poverty will be supported through the auction of this art at our annual fundraising event called Art from the Heart in the spring.

Adviser: Denise Tallakson (denise.tallakson@uni.edu)
President: Jade Carter (cartejah@uni.edu)


College of Education Student Ambassadors (CESA)

CESA aims to promote the College of Education to prospective and current education students and campus visitors, fulfill the needs and support the initiatives of the college, and to provide professional development opportunities for its members.

Adviser: Robert Welch (robert.welch@uni.edu)
President: Bethany Schillinger (schilbaa@uni.edu)


IDT Dance Company

The UNI IDT Dance Company is a student-based performing group that performs a varied repertoire of multicultural and ballroom dances from around the world, as well as basic studio dance styles. The goal of IDT is to expose students to a variety of different dances as well as a variety of fellow students, each with varied dance and cultural experiences.

Adviser: Mandy Masmar (mandy.masmar@uni.edu)
President: Jenny Krause (krausjae@uni.edu)


Kappa Delta Pi (KDP)

Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) is an international honor society for high academically achieving education students that meets once a month. Through professional development events and a variety of ongoing programs, partnered with Cedar Valley schools, KDP prepares pre-service teachers for success in leadership.

 

Adviser: Becky Hawbaker (becky.hawbaker@uni.edu)
President: Madeline Cheeney (cheeneym@uni.edu)


Nonprofit Leadership Alliance (NLA)

The University of Northern Iowa Nonprofit Leadership Alliance (NLA) is a student-run organization dedicated to educating, preparing, and certifying professionals to strengthen and lead nonprofit organizations. NLA is also a national alliance of 40 current colleges and universities, as well as countless nonprofit organizations that are committed to preparing undergraduate students, graduate students, and professionals for careers with national and international nonprofit organizations.

Adviser: Kristina Kofoot (kristina.kofoot@uni.edu)
President: Hannah Luce (luceh@uni.edu )


Orchesis Dance Company

Hosts dance technique classes twice a week, with a 15-minute business meeting once a week. Orchesis provides opportunities for members to choreograph/dance in pieces for the fall show and spring gala. Orchesis is also involved in reaching out to the local community through dance, such as hosting a dance party for elementary schools, helping with local dance competitions, etc.

Adviser: Mandy Masmar (mandy.masmar@uni.edu)
President: Hannah Menken (menkenh@uni.edu)


Physical Education Teaching Club

Adviser: Jim Hall (James.hall@uni.edu)
President: Adam VanErsvelde (vanersva@uni.edu)


Red Cross Club

Hosts biweekly meetings that allow for collaboration and team work. This organization also assists the Red Cross with hosting blood drives and fundraising for natural disasters.

Adviser: Sherry Hester (sherry.hester@uni.edu)
President: Madison Davis (madavis@uni.edu)


Shine On Inc. at UNI

Shine On, Inc. at UNI is a branch of the Iowa-based nonprofit Shine On, Inc. Through programs provided, individuals with and without labeled disabilities are given opportunities to perform, create, and experience the arts together, with the help of  volunteers UNI students. UNI students are paired with children K-12, with and without labeled disabilities. We dance weekly together and at different events within the community. We strive to be all-INclusive so that no one is EXcluded. We want everyone to be able to be in a space where they can learn and grow from each other.

Adviser: Mandy Masmar (mandy.masmar@uni.edu)
President: Cheyanne Chapin (chapicab@uni.edu)


Sport and Exercise Psychology Club (SPEC)

Hosts monthly meetings that discuss the educational background of sport psychology, how to apply to graduate schools, how to get involved, as well as volunteer opportunities in the Cedar Valley.

Adviser: Dr. Mick Mack (mickey.mack@uni.edu)
President: Sydney Cindrich and Aubri Keesee (cindrics@uni.edu, keeseea@uni.edu)


Student Affairs Pre-Professional Association (SAPA)

The UNI Student Affairs Pre-Professional Association (SAPA) engages graduate students in the Postsecondary Education: Student Affairs M.A. (PSE: SA) program throughout their transition to UNI, their progress through the master’s program, and their preparation for a successful future. SAPA will support PSE: SA graduate students’ success by providing opportunities for professional development and personal growth through collaboration across campus and beyond.


Student Association of Middle Level Educators (SAMLE)

SAMLE hosts biweekly meetings that allow for professional development so pre-service teachers can be informed and prepared to transition into their first year of teaching. This organization also provides engagement opportunities with local Cedar Valley middle schools and middle school students.

Adviser: Carolyn Weber (carolyn.weber@uni.edu)
President: Emily Burger (burgere@uni.edu)


Student Athletic Training Organization

Adviser: Peter Neibert (peter.neibert@uni.edu)
President: Neal Eakins (eakinsn@uni.edu)


Student Council for Exceptional Children (SCEC)

SCEC strives to educate class future teachers about diversity and exceptional students in the classroom. All majors are welcome.

Adviser: Danielle Cowley (danielle.cowley@uni.edu )
President: Katy Schroeder (Schrokaw@uni.edu)


Student Elementary & Early Childhood Association (SEECA)

SEECA holds monthly events to help prepare pre-service teachers at UNI through networking, hosting various speakers/panels, craft nights, and bringing other educational resources that help college students grow as educators. Each year, SEECA also hosts an annual Trunk-or-Treat event and we do various volunteer opportunities with young children in the Cedar Valley area.

Adviser: Betty Zan (betty.zan@uni.edu)
President: Rylee Flege (fleger@uni.edu)


Student Literacy Association

Adviser: Sarah VanderZanden (sarah.vanderz@uni.edu)
President: Lauren Smith (smithlbt@uni.edu)


Student Outdoor Leadership Education

Adviser: Kathy Scholl (Kathleen.scholl@uni.edu)
President: Cristin Groetken (groetkec@uni.edu)


Student Public Health Association (SPHA)

The UNI Student Public Health Association is a service-oriented organization that aims to provide the general public with a greater understanding of public health through service-oriented activities, as well as provide opportunities for students to engage in the field of public health.

Adviser: Disa Cornish (disa.cornish@uni.edu)
President: Jessica Schleis (schlejaa@uni.edu )


Supplies on Hand (SOH)

Supplies on Hand (SOH) provides community members with supplies they might require to express themselves through various forms of art. We also provide access to resources for pre-service and current teachers that they will use in their classrooms.

Adviser: Soh Meacham (sohyun.meacham@uni.edu)
President: Colleen Matos (matosc@uni.edu)


Therapeutic Recreation (TR) Association

The purpose of the UNI Therapeutic Recreation (TR) Association provides experiences for students in the field of therapeutic recreation, outside of the classroom. This will be accomplished through monthly meetings, volunteer opportunities within the community, organized events and potential involvement in state and national Therapeutic Recreation organizations.

Adviser: Rodney Dieser (rodney.dieser@uni.edu)
President: Emily Meier (meiereaa@uni.edu)