UNI honors eleven with induction into School of HPELS' Hall of Excellence

August 25, 2011

Eleven graduates from the School of Health, Physical Education and Leisure Services (HPELS) at the University of Northern Iowa will be inducted into the school's Elinor A. Crawford & William R. Thrall Hall of Excellence at 9 a.m., Saturday, Aug. 27, at the UNI Commons.

The following alumni will be inducted this year:

Patricia A. Beitel, Ph.D. (1961) ~ Retired professor UNI & University of Tennessee; AHPERD Research Fellow, Wild and White Award for Promising Teacher

C. David Burton, MA (1976) ~ Supervisor of Performance Medicine, Cirque du Soliel, Las Vegas (present); Associate Athletic Director for Sport Medicine, Wellness and Sports Services, University of Washington (2000-2005); Associate Athletic Director for Olympic Sports and Student Services, University of Colorado (1985-2000); UNI (1977-1985)

Dennis C. Cryer, Ph.D. (1969) ~ Coordinator of Division of Health Promotion and Education (6 terms) and of Health Promotion Field Experiences (1976-present) UNI

Nancy J. Carroll, BA (1979) ~ Director of Parks and Recreation (1985-present), City of Ames, IA; Recreation Supervisor, City of Waverly, IA; President, Richard J. Slattery Award (1993) and Outstanding Young Professional Award (1984), Iowa Park and Recreation Association

David L. Long, Ph.D. (1961) ~ President/CEO of Dave Long & Associates (present); Retired California Secretary of Education (2007-2009); Superintendent (1989-2007); Iowa teacher/coach (1961-1989)

Michael J. Messerole, Ph.D. (1988) ~ Assistant Director, School of HPER, University of Nebraska-Omaha (2007-present); UNO (2001-2007); University and public school teacher/coach (1988-2001)

Lavonne A. Pierson, MS (1972) ~ IAHPERD & NASPE Teacher of the Year; 32 years at Council Bluffs; Cooperating teacher for six universities

Robert C. Rice, Ph.D. (1960) ~ Assistant Superintendent, D.C.; Maryland Assistant State Superintendent; Executive Director, Maryland State Department of Education; Superintendent (Annapolis, MD/Luling, LA/Estherville, IA)

Gaylord F. Tryon, Ph.D., (1969) ~ President, G. Tryon & Associates (2001-present); retired Executive Director, School Administrators of Iowa (1973-2000); Adjunct Professor, UNI and ISU

Karen P. Wilson, MA (1965) ~ Retired teacher/coach (Long Beach/San Diego, CA & Osceola County Schools, FL) and Principal (West Warwick, RI); Teacherrific Award School Finalist, Walt Disney World

Jacquelyn R. Wright, Ph.D. (1989) ~ Professor/coach, Department of Health and Physical Education, Luther College (1985-present); HPE Coordinator (1996-2006)