Multicultural Initiatives in Teaching

The Multicultural Initiatives in Teaching (MIT) Program was formerly known as the Minorities in Teaching Program. The MIT Program was initiated in 1988 as a school/university partnership between the University of Northern Iowa and five Iowa school districts with large, ethnically diverse student populations: Davenport, Waterloo, Cedar Rapids, Sioux City, and Des Moines.

The goal of the program is to increase the number of ethnically diverse educators teaching in Iowa schools.