down arrowMenu


The Mabel M. Wright Scholarships / Joseph S. Wright Scholarships (Award Varies)

 These scholarships derive from a bequest made to the University by Joseph and Mabel McNally right, alumni of the University, 1909 and 1910 respectively. The scholarships are designated for students of promising ability who need financial assistance to prepare themselves for physical education teaching careers. GPA must be commensurate with Teacher Education Program admission requirements (2.5). Each scholarship is awarded for one year only. Former recipients must reapply for consideration in the current year.


The Myrtle A. Merritt Scholarship (Award Varies)

 Awarded to a junior or senior female student majoring in physical education who has maintained a 3.0 grade point average. Applicant should possess a strong desire to teach or coach and be involved in campus activities.


Grace Van Ness Scholarship (Award Varies)

 Recipient must have a strong desire to teach. Preference shall be given to a female student majoring in Physical Education.


Edna Vanderbeck Johnston Scholarship (Award Varies)

 A partial tuition scholarship shall be awarded to a student majoring in Physical Education. (A cumulative GPA of 2.5 required for serious consideration.)


Mildred Stever Undergraduate Transfer/Current Student Scholarship (Award Varies)

 The applicant must be a transfer student or a currently enrolled student who is a declared physical education major and has completed course work at the college level indicating preparation toward a physical education degree. The applicant must have maintained a 3.25 cumulative GPA in his/her university course work. An official transcript from the transfer institution or UNI must be submitted in addition to the scholarship application form. Finalists may be interviewed by a selected physical education faculty committee The scholarship may be renewable, contingent upon availability of funds and meeting renewal criteria.


Tillie & Janzte Huismann Scholarship

 Recipients must be Iowa residents, with first preference given to young women from Spencer High School, Spencer, Iowa, then to women from the surrounding area and then to other Iowa women. Recipients must major in physical education and plan to coach women's sports. First preference is to be given to those interested in coaching volleyball or basketball. Scholarship may be awarded to undergraduate or graduate students, with first preference given to undergraduates. Interest in physical education and coaching shall weigh as heavily as academic achievement in selection of scholarship recipients.


Norene and Lorene Behrens Smith Scholarship

 Preference given to a female physical education major in good standing, well rounded student who is engaged in a variety of extra-curricular activities, renewable if student maintains satisfactory academic progress and continues to pursue a major in education. (Donor is more interested in “well rounded” than academic standing.)