Standards and Reflection Guidelines

Standards | Reflection Guidelines

InTASC Standards

Ten standards, based upon the Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC), were selected because of their general application to all teachers at all levels Pre-K through grade 12. As you progress through the phases of the teacher education program, you will progressively complete a professional portfolio that will be organized according to these standards. For more information, including the specific indicators for each InTASC standard, download the full document with InTASC Model Core Standards and Learning Progression for Teachers (PDF)

The standards have been grouped into four general categories to help users organize their thinking about the standards:

The Learner and Learning:

The teacher candidate understands how learners grow and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences.

The teacher candidate uses understanding of individual differences and
diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that enable each learner to meet high standards.

The teacher candidate works with others to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self motivation.

Content Knowledge:

The teacher candidate understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content.

The teacher candidate understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues.

Instructional Practice:

Standard #6 ASSESSMENT:
The teacher candidate understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the teacher's and learner's decision making.

The teacher candidate plans instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, curriculum, cross-disciplinary skills, and pedagogy, as well as knowledge of learners and the community context.

The teacher candidate understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways.

Professional Responsibility:

The teacher candidate engages in ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his/her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner.

The teacher candidate seeks appropriate leadership roles and opportunities to take responsibility for student learning, to collaborate with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth, and to advance the profession.


Reflection Guideline for WebQuest (and beyond)

Watch this short video created by Dr.Z in which he explains how to reflect on your work with the relation to the InTASC standards

Reflection Guidelines for INSTTECH 1031 ePortfolio

You will be expected to align many of your class projects with the InTASC Standards. During this course (except INSTTECH 1020), you will begin creating your professional ePortfolio. Using the table below as a guide, include your written reflections on the corresponding artifact pages of your ePortfolio.

Class Project (Artifacts) Related Standard Numbers
Thematic Unit Standards 4, 7, and 10
WebQuest Standards 1, 3, 8
Digital Video Standards1, 3, 5, and 8
Learning Tool Standards1, 4, 6 and 8


Standards 9, 10

My Blog Standards 9, 10


For INSTTECH 1020 - Secondary EdTech&Design only ! :

Video Project Reflections (to be submitted in the assignment dropbox):

Include your written reflections along with the URL to your video. Align this project to InTASC Standards 1, 3, 5, and 8 . Follow these prompts:

  1. This Video supports the unit theme ________ .
  2. The instructional objective(s) this project supports is: (restate one or more objectives and related common core standard number from your thematic unit description)
  3. The intended learners are: (briefly summarize the learners described in your thematic unit description)
  4. Alignment with InTASC Standards:

This project supports the component "_________" from standard "_________" , because…
— Explain how specific aspects of the project address this component.
— Repeat this prompt to address at least one component of each corresponding standard

ISTE Standards

The lecture topics and activities during labs portion of the course are also aligned with The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Standards, that are the standards for learning, teaching and leading in the digital age. For more information see:

ISTE standards help empower students to become future ready, lifelong learner. See the full size poster "I am a digital age learner"